iLife Realty Blog
The Tenant Protection Act of 2019 goes into effect January 1, 2020.
What you should know:
1. “California law also provides that after all of the tenants have continuously and lawfully occupied the property for 12 months or more or at least one of the tenants has continuously and lawfully occupied the property for 24 months or more, a landlord must provide a statement of cause in any notice to terminate a tenancy. See Section 1946.2 of the Civil Code for more information.”
2. “California law limits the amount your rent can be increased. See Section 1947.12 of the Civil Code for more information.”